1957: Phil at home in Luton

During his 6 decades in motorcycle road racing Phil has won 8 World Championship GP titles in 4 classes; 125, 250, 500, & 750.

He was the first rider to win a World Championship for Yamaha & the last to win the Senior TT title for MV.

Together with Jon Ekerold (1980 350cc Champion), Phil is one of the two riders to have won a world title on a private, non factory machine.

He has won eight IOM TT races and the 1960 Manx GP on a Manx Norton at record speed with a new lap record. He also won three IOM Southern 100 races & Yamaha’s first TT race.

He holds 15 gold, silver and bronze FIM GP medals & obtained 121 podium places in GP.

Phil is mentioned in the Guinness Book of records for winning the most 250cc world championship titles.

In 1979 he was presented the MBE for services to sport by HRH. He rode a revolutionary Quasar to the event.

2003/4 Victories.
La BaƱeza Spain, 500cc Duke BSA & Madeira, Porot Santo, Mettet 350cc TZ Yamaha.

Along with the late Mike Hailwood and Valentino Rossi, Phil is the only rider to win road racing championships in 3 or more different classes.

Phil is renowned as one of the finest riding talents in road racing and has the ability to get the best out of every machine he has raced.

NW200 1969He came to prominence by winning the 1960 Senior Manx GP at record speed on a Manx Norton.

The following year he went on to win his first IOM TT race on his own private 350cc Norton against many of the world’s top riders.

In 1964 Phil joined the factory Yamaha team & won the 250cc world title at his first attempt & gave Yamaha their first ever world championship.

Phil officially retired from the sport in 1982, but returned at a classic event in 1991 on a Syd Lawton 350cc Aermacchi and duly won at a record speed.

In 2003 he started to race a TZ 350 Yamaha in some continental ICGP races and continued into 2004 with his TZ and an ABSAF 500cc replica of the Duke BSA he raced when he was 19 years old.

1977-iom-ttf1-honda-customCAREER HIGHLIGHTS
Most successful British GP rider with 121 podiums.
8 World Championships.
52 GP wins, comprising;
10 125cc GP wins
27 250cc GP wins
4 350cc GP wins
11 500cc GP wins